Two PhD positions: Computer Security and Artificial Intelligence

Both positions are fully funded with the German salary level TV-L 13 (100%) and should be filled at the soonest possible date. In the beginning, the positions are limited to two years, but they offer the possibility of funding the entire duration of the PhD.

Research

The "Intelligent System Security" research group at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) works on the application of machine learning for computer security. In particular, we develop methods in the area of application security and system security, for instance, approaches for attack detection or vulnerability discovery in software and embedded devices. Also, the robustness, security, and interpretability of machine learning methods are central to our research.

Your Profile

We are looking for talented candidates that fulfill the following criteria and intend to pursue a PhD in computer science:

  • Diploma or Master's degree in computer science or any related field
  • Very good knowledge of computer security and/or machine learning
  • Enthusiasm for conducting research on computer security

Field of Work

Possible research topics include, but are not limited to:

  • The analysis of attacks and malware using machine learning
  • Assisted discovery of vulnerabilities
  • Fuzz Testing (Fuzzing) using machine learning
  • Attacks against learning-based systems
  • Explainability of machine learning in computer security

Application

Please send your application including a cover letter, your CV, and certificates/references to applications@intellisec.org. Make sure to point out why you are a good fit for us and research in computer security.

We strive for a diverse research team and ask people from all nations to join us. Moreover, qualified women are strongly encouraged to apply. Disabled persons with equivalent aptitude will be favored.

Application Deadline

12. January 2020

Applications are going to be processed as soon as they arrive.

Zwei Promotionsstellen: IT-Sicherheit und Künstliche Intelligenz

Beide Stellen werden nach Entgeltgruppe TV-L 13 (100%) bezahlt und sollen zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt besetzt werden. Zu Beginn sind die Stellen auf zwei Jahre befristet, bieten aber die Möglichkeit der vollen Finanzierung der gesamten Promotionszeit.

Forschung

Die Forschungsgruppe "Intelligente Systemsicherheit" des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung und dem Einsatz von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens in der IT-Sicherheit. Hierbei arbeiten wir vor allem an Themen der Applikations- und Systemsicherheit, wie der Angriffserkennung oder der Suche nach Schwachstellen in Software und eingebetteten Geräten. Auch die Robustheit (Angriffssicherheit) und Erklärbarkeit von Methoden des maschinellen Lernen sind zentrale Themen unserer Forschung.

Ihr Profil

Wir suchen motivierte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber die folgende Kriterien erfüllen und eine Promotion im Bereich der Informatik anstreben:

  • Abgeschlossener Hochschulabschluss in der Fachrichtung Informatik (Master oder Diplom) oder einem verwandten Gebiet
  • Sehr gute Kenntnisse in IT-Sicherheit und/oder maschinellem Lernen
  • Begeisterung für Forschung an der Schnittstelle der künstlichen Intelligenz und der IT-Sicherheit

Arbeitsbereich

Mögliche Forschungsthemen sind:

  • Analyse von Angriffen und Schadcode mit maschinellem Lernen
  • Intelligente Schwachstellensuche
  • Fuzz Testen (Fuzzing) mit Methoden des maschinellen Lernens
  • Angriffe gegen lernenden Systemen
  • Erklärbarkeit von Lernverfahren in der IT-Sicherheit

Bewerbung

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung bestehende aus Anschreiben, Lebenslauf und Zeugnissen an applications@intellisec.de. Achten Sie bitte darauf hervorzuheben warum Sie zu unserer Arbeitsgruppe und der Forschung im Bereich IT-Sicherheit passen.

Wir streben eine möglichst hohe Diversität in unserer Forschungsgruppe an. Bewerbungen von Menschen aller Nationen sind willkommen. Darüber hinaus sind Bewerbungen von Frauen besonders erwünscht. Bei entsprechender Eignung werden außerdem schwerbehinderte Menschen bevorzugt berücksichtigt.

Einreichungsfrist

12. Januar 2020

Einreichungen werden bearbeitet sobald diese eintreffen.