PhD position: Security and Robustness of Machine Learning

The position is fully funded with the German salary level TV-L 13 (100%) and should be filled at the soonest possible date. In the beginning, the position is limited to 18 months, but we offer the possibility of funding the entire duration of the PhD.

https://www.pse.kit.edu/downloads/stellenangebote

Application up to: November 15th 2021

Research

The "Intelligent System Security" research group works at the intersection of machine learning and computer security. We develop learning-based methods for attack detection on different levels or the discovery of vulnerabilities in software. Moreover, we research the robustness and security of machine learning methods themselves. Here, we are particularly looking for reinforcing our team.

Your Profile

You have a Diploma or Master's degree in computer science or any related field. You also require very good knowledge in machine learning and ideally computer security. Above all, however, you need to show enthusiasm for conducting research on cutting-edge topics in machine learning and computer security.

Field of Work

Possible research topics include, but are not limited to:

Attacks against learning-based systems
  • ML backdoors
  • Adversarial examples
  • Model stealing
Secure and robust learning methods
  • Adversarial training
  • Network pruning
Explainability of machine learning

Application

Please send your application including a cover letter, your CV, and all certificates/references to . Make sure to point out why you are a good fit for us and research in the field of security of machine learning.

We strive for a diverse research team and ask people from all nations to join us. Moreover, qualified women are strongly encouraged to apply. Disabled persons with equivalent aptitude will be favored.

Promotionsstelle: Sicherheit von Maschinellem Lernen

Die Stelle wird nach Entgeltgruppe TV-L 13 (100%) bezahlt und soll zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt besetzt werden. Zu Beginn ist die Stellen auf zwei Jahre befristet, bietet aber die Möglichkeit der vollen Finanzierung der gesamten Promotionszeit.

https://www.pse.kit.edu/downloads/stellenangebote

Berwerbung bis: 15. November 2021

Forschung

Die Forschungsgruppe „Intelligente Systemsicherheit" forscht an der Schnittstelle von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens und der IT- Sicherheit. Hierbei arbeiten wir an Themen wie der Angriffserkennung oder der Suche nach Schwachstellen in Software. Ein weiteres zentrales und besonders wichtiges Thema unserer Forschung ist die Robustheit (im Sinne von Angriffssicherheit) von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens. Hier suchen wir aktuell Verstärkung.

Ihr Profil

Sie verfügen über einen Hochschulabschluss in der Fachrichtung Informatik (Master / Diplom) oder einem verwandten Gebiet. Darüber hinaus sollten Sie sehr gute Kenntnisse zu maschinellem Lernen und der IT-Sicherheit mitbringen. Vor allem bedarf es aber der Begeisterung für Forschung an lernenden Systemen und der Neugier für neuartige Methoden.

Arbeitsbereich

Mögliche Forschungsthemen sind:

Angriffe gegen lernende Systeme
  • Hintertüren in ML Modellen ("ML Backdoors")
  • Auslösen von Fehlverhalten ("Adversarial Examples")
  • Extraktion von Modelldaten ("Model stealing")
Robustes und sicheres maschinelles Lernen
  • Verbessern von Trainingverfahren ("Adversarial Training")
  • Erklärbarkeit von Lernverfahren in der IT-Sicherheit
Erklärbarkeit von maschinellem Lernen

Bewerbung

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung bestehende aus Anschreiben, Lebenslauf und Zeugnissen an . Achten Sie bitte darauf hervorzuheben warum Sie zu unserer Arbeitsgruppe und der Forschung im Bereich der Sicherheit von maschinellem Lernen passen.

Wir streben eine möglichst hohe Diversität in unserer Forschungsgruppe an. Bewerbungen von Menschen aller Nationen sind willkommen. Darüber hinaus sind Bewerbungen von Frauen besonders erwünscht. Bei entsprechender Eignung werden außerdem schwerbehinderte Menschen bevorzugt berücksichtigt.